TPO-20 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The recent years have witnessed a fast development of the society and abundant people become successful in the same time. Along with which comes a heated debate wether successful people try new things and take risks rather than doing what they already know how to do well. Some people support the idea that great men always challenge themselves and do something special while others hold the opposite view. As far as I am concerned, I am totally in favor of the former point of view. My reasons and examples are given below.

Initially, trying new things helps people to have a great understanding of the latest technology. There is no doubt that those who are always curious about the up-to-date information and latest trends have a greater chance to success. The cutting edge technology enhance their progress of success. For instance, one of my friends is the founder of a IT company and always tries new things. Before he started his business, he got a job as a programmer. However, instead of jus focusing on his general works, he spent a lot of time making acquaintance with people from varies professional background. By learning their pain points about the education, he established his company of online education and received an investment of 500 million dollars. When I asked him about his success, he said,'Stay curious and try new things.'

In addition, if people want to be successful, taking risks is the only approach. There is an old saying goes in my country,'You never snatch a wolf with a empty hand.' Let us think it over in reverse, if we can earn a profit without any risks, how can our society has so many occupations? For example, in the old days, adventurers such as Columbus has discover lots of new continents. At that time, taking an adventure at that time took a great deal of risks and lots of brave sailors died because of the raging ocean. What propel these adventurers is that they can obtain valuable treasure and be successful in their countries.

Admittedly, I am not denying that doing what we know how to do well is not important on the way to success. However, as long as we can be finish our current task perfectly and also look forward, there is nothing to worry about and we can absolutely win the competitive edge in the future.

In a nutshell, there are countless reasons that make a person succeed but trying new things and taking risks are always the most important qualities of all. It is not only because they can have better understanding of the latest technology but also because it is the only way to success. Based on what I written above, that it why I feel this way.