TPO 21 Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement For success in a future job the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

Everyone in the society is seeking for success in career, but what is the key factor of becoming successful? There are two choices – good networking and hardworking. Although someone tend to choose the first aspect, I definitely agree that hardworking at school should be a key factor of success. Without hardworking at school, success in the future cannot be guaranteed.

To gain success in our future career, we must have solid knowledge of the field we choose. Under this circumstance, doing hard at school is the best way to quip ourselves with background knowledge. Although sometimes we may find things we have studied at school sort of unpractical, it is basic to handle real problems at work. Take myself as an example; I am now a senior major in journalism. I studied how to interview, how to write summaries and journals and how to make comments on subjects at school. I worked very hard and in the third year, I got a chance to be an intern in China Economic Daily. During this time, I totally put my knowledge into use and handle the real journalism with only a few problems. If I did not study hard and had no knowledge of journalism, how could I handle this internship?

Another thing we can get from our hard work is the way of solving problems. During the time we studied at school, methods of learning and solving problems are also of great importance. These methods can be put into use even when we graduate, since we all have update our knowledge and solve problems when we are at work. Again take myself as an example, when I did my internship, I had to write down a lot of details of a certain event in just a few minutes. It was really difficult, but since I had found out a method of writing fast at school, I could put down things on paper really efficiently. This method provided a lot of help.

While some one may claim that we cannot ignore the importance of networking since a good networking may offer you greater chances to gain success. Anyway, I admit that we cannot get rid of a good networking. However, if we are not studying hard and have no abilities to do things well, how can people pay attention on us or even provide us good opportunities? Hardworking is basic.

All in all, hardworking should be the key factor of becoming successful. It provides foundations of our success in the future.