TPO-22 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, more and more schools began to restrict their teachers from talking about their own political and social preference in the classroom. While some educators worried that this move offended their rights of free speak, supporters embraced schools' decision for they do not want students to be disturbed by politics. I agree with the supporters that teachers should stop speak their social or political views out to students. The explanations go as follows.

In the first place, students' political preference would be influenced by teachers'. From the phycology study, without the mutual independent thinking, young kids are easy to be deceived and are likely to follow the authority. In other words, students would think the teacher's political views are the authority, and take them as their own political views.

Moreover, talking politics in class would distract students from their courses. The length of classes is limited. In other words, if a teacher spends time talking about information unrelated to the curriculum, students will get less knowledge from the class. For example, during the Cultural Revolution in China, pedagogues spend too much time talking about the politics. As a result, people went to school at that time barely learned anything from the classroom.

In addition to the previous points, publicly speak their social or political views in the classroom would cause troubles to teachers themselves. We are not lack of the news that teachers got discarded from school or been prosecuted after they advocate their religion belief in the classroom. Considering about this, it would be safe for our instructors to keep their political views to be private.

In conclusion, taking politics with students in the class would waste their time as will as influence their political preferences. Besides the negative effects on students, teachers may also get hurt from doing so. In short, talking politics with students in the class would do no go to both students and teachers.