TPO-22 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The purpose of students to go to school is to gain academic knowledge. The responsibility of professors is to teach students and help them to learn as good as possible. As a student, I totally agree with the statement that the teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, classroom is a place for students to study. We all acknowledge that education plays a pivotal role in our lives. In other words, our lives depend on our education. People cannot have a job without knowledge. Meanwhile, time to study in school is limited. Therefore, both teachers and students should take advantage of time in school to teach and gain as much knowledge as possible. Moreover, a class jus lasts for about forty-five minutes, and students have to pay money for their studies and teachers receive money from their teaching. If they do not use their time to perform their jobs effectively. It will cause a lot of problem to them and to society as well. My own experience is a compelling example of this case. When I was in nursing college. My biology teacher was addicted to shopping. She could talk about shopping without ending. Whenever, she bought new things, she told us how to buy them and it seemed to me that she was an advertiser of those things. Our class were frequently full of noisy. Many of us loved her class just because we could gossip and we did not have to prepare the lessons for the class at all. However, at the end of that semester, none of us achieved a good mark, meanwhile biology was a required course. It happened because my biology teacher did not spend her time to convey biological knowledge to us.

Another reason is that talking about social and political issues in class will sometime do harm students. It is no doubt that in some cases, some politic news will help students to know more about social life, but in general speaking, talking about these concepts in classrooms is unsuitable. Many time students might not understand what professors meant, they might conflict each other. It is a waste of time. I remember clearly that when I was in high school. My history loved to tell us local news. There was a news regarded to her and she felt angry with the editor of that news. She complained about that editor whenever she began to teach us in our classroom. As a result, we had a bad attitude to that editor, meanwhile we did not know whether our history teacher’s story about that editor was right or not.

In conclusion, I totally agree with the statement that teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom because classroom is not only a place for students to gain knowledge, but also if teachers talk about their own views about their social and political lives will do harm to students.