TPO-28 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

What an important aspect of human beings' lives which plays a prominent role in their prosperities, to a great extent, is education. Although there is a consequence on its indisputable role, the most efficient method of educating students is still a moot point. Germane to this fact, a question which is the matter of debate, a controversial one, is whether parents today are more involved in their children's education than were in the past. Whereas some people may be on the belief that they are still indispensable for education of their children, I am personally of the conviction that parents' responsibilities are dwindled for two conspicuous reasons.

One compelling reason giving in favor of this thesis is that schools have different policies from the past. To elucidate more on this issue, the government has enacted new policies on schools' schedules. These policies pave the way for schools to play a more important role in the students' education. For instance, last week, I read in the newspaper that the government has implemented policy changes in the programs of school, which include changes of class times, number of teachers, and so forth. According to the new changes, schools are now open from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m., which is two hours more than the past. Consequently, students will spend a longer time in schools, and schools, in turn, will have more effect on their education. As you can see, the government's policies have decreased the role of parents in their children's education.

Another reason which cannot go unnoticed is that the increase in the numbers of different subjects taught in schools, decreases the efficiency of parents helps. To shed some light on this premise, it is worth pointing out that many different topics, nowadays, are taught in schools. Nevertheless, parents are not expert in all of them, and they cannot, hence, be beneficial to their children in learning the topics. For example, my son is ten years old, and he told me that he has many different classes in school, i.e. mathematics, literature, biology, etc. Furthermore, he has a class for learning the piano. One cannot turn a blind eye on the fact that nobody has good knowledge on all of these areas. Thus, I am not able to assist him in learning them. This experience taught me that since there are many lessons that children learn in schools, parents are not capable of assisting them with them.

By way of conclusion, I am personally one of the proponents who cites a clear bias in favor of the thesis that parents are no more involved in their children's education as much as they were in the past. To recapitulate the reasons, not only are they hampered by implemented policy changes, but also their lack of knowledge in all the covered topics in schools is a restrictive factor.