TPO-28 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A glance at the mode of modern education brings to light a topic which has several times provoked discussion, namely, whether today's parents are more involved in their children's education than before. Some might contend that with the development of public education system, parents' influence on children's education is fading. However, I would like to suggest that parents are increasingly getting involved in children's education in term of time and financial investment, and technological support.

First and foremost, it is undeniable that education is becoming more and more expensive. The tuition fee for both public and private universities have been increased in the past decades, for instance. As a result, students financially rely on their parents even in their twenties, and are less independent. What is more, the peer pressure for children is so heavy that the parents believe that the more their children learn the better. This is well-illustrated in my country, China, where many parents take their children to extra-curriculular courses and activities at weekends, which is a huge investment in both time and money. Thus, parents today are aware of letting their children learn new things and they are willing to raise the expenditure for education.

Secondly, the advent of technology also requires parents getting more involved in their children's education. Computers, for instance, has become common in most families, and sometimes students are asked to finish assignments using it. This is when parents are expected to provide guidance for those young children who are new to computers. Helping them with the basic technological skills can facilitate their studies and let them perform better in accomplish certain tasks, like searching for information online. As using new technologies has become an essential skill in schools and work place, schools usually do not offer specific step-to-step instructions, making parents an ideal source of help at home. Only by doing so can students quickly pick up knowledge on how to make use of new and more powerful tools.

Admittedly, there are some justifications by one who argues that nowadays home-teaching is becoming less common, and children share more freedom in making decisions like choosing their majors in university. Despite these, I still affirm that in a society where competition between people starts at a young age, more parents in general are concerned about their children's academic performance, and are also getting more strict than those parents decades ago. For instance, they would set goals for children's examination scores and overlook them finishing their homework.

For the aforementioned ground, I firmly believe that parents today are more involved in their children's education than before, and time and financial investment and technological support are two prime and conspicuous reasons.