TPO-28 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my opinion, I agree with the statement that parents are more involved in their children's education than before. I feel this way for two reasons. One is because of the number of children is less than before. The other is because that parents know the joys of study and like to share the happiness with their children.

Unlike the old days, there were more children in a family. Parents had to work very hard to earn enough money for their children. By doing so, parents would not have plenty of time to take care of children's education. However, in these days,There is only one or two children in a family. Parents have more time to be accompany with their child. What's more, due to poverty in the past older child might have to drop school and worked to increase the income of a family. Take my mother for example, she is the oldest child, she started to work after graduating from elementary school. She gave all the money to my grandmother to buy food for the whole family. Rather than feeling sorry that my mother dropped the class, my grandmother was very happy and grateful for what my mother was done. On the other hand, thanks to the thriving of economic most children today have the opportunity to attend school. And because of the prevalent of education, parents are forced and under the pressure of social community to involved into children's education.

In addition, nowadays, parents are well-educated. They understand the power of knowledge. Learning new things is interesting, parents today have learned the joys and happiness when digging into a field and discussing problems with their classmates and talented scholars in school. They will definitely want to share the joys with their children. Take my father for example, he majored in Chinese literature in a university, and he loves the Chines history. When I was young, he took my brother and me to the library every weekend and we enjoyed the moment he chose books for us. The best memory between my father and I was we lay in bed and he told the history telltales for us.

For these two reasons, I think there is no doubt that parents today are more involved in their children's education.