TPO-29 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To improve the quality of education, universities should spend money on salaries university professors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Knowledge is priceless says the adage, but I think the person creating the knowledge does have a price. Many people see doing science as a noble profession that rewards its scientist with the gratification of discovering something new, but like any other person, they should be financially and properly retributed. Accordingly, I think that Universities should spend more money on their professors' salaries, for the following reasons.

First, the more you pay, the better the professors are going to be. Competent people have a lot of opportunities, naturally, they will go to the one that pays them the best and that is not usually university. For example, in England, there is a shortage of computer science professors because industry have them on high demand and the pay is much greater than that of a university. Consequently, I think that if universities want the best personnel, they have to raise the salary.

Moreover, professors should be rewarded properly. They play a crucial role in the world, they develop new technologies and discover breakthroughs that all the world benefits from. However, they do not get paid as much as they should for this immense task and many professors go into side projects to gain extra income. On the other hand, if their salaries were higher, they could focus solely on their research, and it will result on better and more impactful results.

Nonetheless, many people may argue that the universities should invest their money in research so that the institution is always at the forefront of knowledge. But as I said, investing in the human capital is a much better choice because research does not need to be more expensive in order to be better, but a better scientist could get better results with fewer funds.

To summarize, universities should invest more in their professor in order to attract better professionals, that could focus solely on their work instead of having to worry about financial security. In the end, I think we should pay handsomely the person who creates the priceless knowledge.