TPO 3 Independent Writing Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Some people might consider making new friends more important than keeping old friends. I believe it is more crucial to keep our old friends. In our life, as it progresses, we will be separated from them at some point in time and inevitably have to make new friends. But this doesn't mean we forget our old friends. In the following essay, we will examine why I feel this way.

First, with our old friends, we have spent a considerable amount of time with them. This has led to a stronger bond between us. We might not feel as open with our new friends as we would with our old friends as we have known them for years. Also, after our parents, we are closest to our old friends. So, if we have some kind of problem - mental or personal - we can share it with them. We can't share it with a new friend because we might not be still sure if he is trustworthy or not. We might also feel uncomfortable sharing personal problems with them. For example, I was in a relationship a few years ago. We had some issues, and I was not sure how to deal with them. I was even not comfortable sharing with this my parents, but I was with my old friend. We discussed the thing, it helped me feel relaxed and at last, we came to a solution, and all sorted out perfectly. In this case, If I would not have been in touch with my old friend then it would have been really difficult for me.

Second, an old friend can help us in our careers. All of us are always concerned about our careers and so are our friends. After a few years, no one knows where one will reach. Our old friends would be working in different cities and different industries. In future, if we need any type of help in finding a job, starting a business, etc. they can help us out. For example, after my graduation, I was not able to find a job. My friend from high school was working in a domain the same as mine in a well-reputed MNC. I reached out to him for a referral. He was more than happy to give me one. It helped me give a shot in that company and, luckily, I got the job. If I had not maintained a good relationship with him after high school, I would be hesitant to ask him for this and, probably, I would have not gotten this job.

So, for these reasons, I feel it is important to keep our old friends.