TPO 30 Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours Use spec

There have existed endless discussions on the topic of working hours. It is argued that working hours spread over three days a week with long hours is more preferable than jobs that spread over five days a week with shorter hours. Personally, I disagree with this argument.

On one hand, personal fulfillment draw much of my attention. It is apparent that spending five out of seven days a week at a job implies shorter gaps between workdays. As a consequence, workers are less likely to disrupt their “flow” of work, which means they ought to remain sharp when starting their day of work. Accordingly, their productiveness is increased, resulting in higher quality of work. This, in turn, enhances other aspects of their worklife, such as respect from colleagues or chances of getting promoted or earning a raise, as well as giving workers the satisfaction of producing high quality work. More notably, spending shorter hours per work day leaves more free time everyday for workers to invest elsewhere. Workers have the opportunity to use this free time for meaningful and important activities that benefits their life quality. For example, workers are given a golden chance to spend this golden time with their family, to have fun with their children or to have a homely TV night together. Such activities bonds the family together, whilst creating beautiful memories that lasts a lifetime and brings much happiness. By and large, working at a job five days a week with shorter hours should be more fulfilling for workers.

On the other hand, some might say that working many days a week would quickly drain out workers’ energy and leave them tired when returning from work. Subsequently, they would become irritated, angry, and unhappy. However, this is not necessarily the case. In fact, while the number of days increases the total amount of hours do not change. The hours are instead split over smaller periods, meaning that workers are allowed to rest sooner. Resting sooner prevents workers from overworking and keeps them energetic throughout the day. Therefore, they avoid fatigue, both physically and mentally, while retaining some energy to spend on other leisure and fulfilling activities that brings them joy and happiness. With no doubt, the claim that a five days a week job brings misery to workers is intrinsically wrong.

To sum up, maintaining the flow of work, having free time everyday and shorter working periods are convincing reasons for my argument that a job consisting of five days a week with shorter hours is more beneficial to workers’ happiness.