TPO-32 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answe

Decision making is an important part of our lives. Our decisions often couse different consequences in the future, that’s why it is so important to choose the right. Some people believe that young people have no influence on the important decision that determine the future of the society; others disagree. Even though some people might find the influence of young people because they are more active in political life by estabilishing new political organizations or by fighting during demonstrations. In my view, young people have no influence on the important decision for two important reasons.

The main reason is that they are not the majority. In all well-developed countries, the majority are senior citizens. And when a community has to make a decision a young people don’t have enough votes to support their view. For example, two years ago, in my hometown, Kharkiv citizen had an option between building new park or lowering the tax rates. The senior citizen supported the idea about the construction of the park because it would provide for them good place for relaxing and enjoy the nature. The young people, on the other hand, wanted to lower taxes becouse it would be beneficial for small buiseness and would atract more international companies, as a result, it would have provided more job opporties and increased the wealt of sitizen dramatically. Because the majority wanted park the second proposal was denied even though it would provide more benefits. As you can see, young people can’t influence because they are not the majority.

Another important reason is that young people don’t have enough political power. In all countries, the government consists primarly from older people, who are usually older than 45 years. For instance, in my country, the parliament consists of 450 representatives and only twelve of them are younger than thirty-five years. This tiny amount of people couldn’t oppose others, as a result, it is hard for them to influence on any important decision. Also they influenced by older and became more corrupted. Older people could manipulate them in order to get more vote. As you can see, young people don’t have enough political power and just became the tool of older governors.

In conclusion, young people don’t influence on important decisions. Not only because they don’t have enough political power, but also because they are not the majority of the society.