TPO-46 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.Use specific reasons and exam

The personality of individuals starts developing since the earliest months of their lives. Mostly, the early stages of life the child will be affected by his parents. However, as the individual grows and build up his character, the factors affecting the personality and thoughts of a person are much wider than just the parents or family, but they expand to include media and celebrities. I agree with the saying that the opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

First, younger people have an immature personality. The way children and adolescents think would be still unstable and ranging with different circumstances and variable factors. Moreover, younger people can't take a clear decision and be certain and sure about it. On the other hand, older people would be more stable and they would know what they want, so they would not be very affected by what others thinks especially celebrities and famous entertainers, since older people would have already established their priorities. For example, when I was a teenager, I used to like a famous athlete that was so popular in my country. I started to copy that famous person, always listen to what he says, and I got affected by his personality. I even stated to like sports, which is not really what I usually prefer as a hobby. So, that athlete affected my personality in mostly all the aspects of my life, til a specific age, when I became more mature and I was able to define who I am and establish my own personality.

Second, younger individuals always try to fit in the crowd, whether this is at school, home or if they are working. Famous celebrities that are already popular makes this easier on them. When a celebrity makes any comment and says his opinion, you see that most young people would start to think like that celebrity and even act like him. For example, I was finding some difficulty to be accepted in my new school that I moved to when we first came to the states. However, when I started coping the famous singer Britney spears in her opinions and her acts-regardless of what I think now about her- I became more popular and accepted. So the opinions of the famous singer affected me as a teenager much more than it affected my parents or teachers for example.

As a conclusion, young people are the most ones affected by the opinions of celebrities and famous entertainers. So, those should be careful in what thoughts they deliver to young people because this would affect an entire generation, and thus may alter our future.