TPO-47 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

With the development of the technology such as the mass media and the internet, the world became globalized. We can easily access the information we need to keep up to date with the most recent events. Knowing what happening around you help you to be well-rounded person among other people. some people contend that it is not necessary to know the events that happened around in the world because they do not have time to know the news due to their busy schedule. However, as far as I am concerned ,I completely agree with the statement because of the following reasons.

First of all, knowing what happened in the world help someone to be knowledgable and well-informed. When someone has a debate or discussion with other people , that would help someone to talk and argue the issue of discussion. It reflects a message to the other people that this person is well-rounded ,therefore, people can not beat him in the discussion, and he has the ability to convince the other people with his opinion, he will become an influential person in his society. Accordind to recent survey showed that people who are connected to the new events that happening around them are more likely to affect other people's opinions. For example, my cousin is always up to date to the events that happened around him as he constantly watching TV and reading the news paper. Whenever he debate with other people in a large group, his opinion is always win and convince other people with his ideas. This example demonstrate the importance of knowing the events that happened around you.

Moreover, knowing what happened around the world help someone to be connected with the world. Thanks to the technology that made our world as a close-knit society, so, it is easier for us now to be connected with the world.For example, I have been living in the US for almost ten years, every day , I watch the news to know what happened in my country, since the politics are not stable yet as there is still wars. I was be able to watch the demonstration of 25 th Januarythat occured in 2009 in Egypt. Keeping up -to date with the news helped me to be connected with my contry and tracks every event in the moment of occuring. As you can see , watching news helped me to be in contact with the world.

To put in a nutshell, knowing what happened around you help someone to be knowledgeable as well as being connected with the world. We should all konow the events that happened in the world to be informed and not behind others.