Without any shadow of doubt, the media has profound impact on modern people, especially young generations. Some think that there should be restrictions on advertisements targeting children up to five years old.Others, on the other hand, have the opposite viewpoint, believing that there is not necessarily to impose restrictions on such advertisements. I am of the former opinion since these kinds of advertisements are harmful for children as they are very impression, physically and emotionally.

To start with, television advertisements aiming young children have detrimental effect on children's health. Most advertisements shows interesting and inducing scenes of unhealthy foods such as chips and fast foods, stimulating children to eat these foods. When parents bring their children to a supermarket, every now and then, children insist to convince their parent to buy for them chocolates, chips and biscuits. Fast food restaurants such as McDonalds and KFC contribute millions of dollars for advertisement in TV and as a result the both the young generation and parents like to try foods in these restaurants rather than eating homemade food which has much more ingredients and vitamins. Airing advertisements also encourage children having sedentary lifestyle. Instead of going out and playing with other children, they sit in their home and watching TV advertisements since these programs are very attractive for them. As all these examples have shown, advertisements has serious effects on the health of our next generations.

In addition, advertisements have adverse impact on social development of the children. Nowadays, children reluctantly engage in conversations and they are inclined to play with their Ipad or watching TVs. TVs programs especially advertisements has caused children to be isolated themselves. Consequently, children cannot make connection with the others, the trend which will have detrimental effects on their future life as an adult. Moreover, some advertisements show aggressive and action scenes which motivate aggressive and unacceptable behaviours. All these effects would have serious ramifications for our children.

In conclusion, I do agree with the notion that advertisements targeting children should be banned. This policy will help children to be more sociable and healthier and finally will go along way towards having better and socially accepetable community in the future.