Tpo45 - independentIt is more important for universities to invest in infrastructure and physical plant than to invest in keeping the faculty satisfied

Sometimes universities get a funding from the government, and how to use the money becomes a controversial question. Some people advocate using the money to build new infrastructure and physical plant. Others think it is better to invest in keeping the faculty satisfied. Personally, I prefer the first answer because it is of benefit to all the members in the university. I feel this way for the following reasons.

To begin with, the most important goal for a university is to educate great students. For this reason, I think students is the first group of people should be satisfied in the university. Good infrastructure such as a library or high-end lab equipment satisfies intelligent students' thirst of knowledge and make students endeavor to study into a specific field. The job market is competitive, so students will like to learn as many skills as possible at school. By doing so, they are prone to find a better job. If a student have a better job and earn a lot of money, he/she may donate money to back to the school to build more infrastructure. Therefore, the university benefits. It becomes a positive cycle between students and schools.

Moreover, best infracture attracts best students. And since the most intelligent students are in the school, they help publish high quality of paper. The more intelligent students in a university the better the ranking of a school is. In the end, more and more studenets would like to apply to the university, and then the university can not only get more tuition from students but also wins more funding from the government. The more the money is, the better the infrastructure is. So, it is again a positive cycle between students and schools.

In addition, not only schools and students benefit but also faculties. why does a professor decide to spend his whole life in school rather than working as an expert in the best company of a country? I think that is because the most satisfaction for a professor is having an opportunity to discuss with brilliant students and watch them grow. Take my professor and me for example, we have been discussing a practical problem for all night and finally coming out a pattern when I studied in graduate school. After that discussion, we both felt satisfied and full of joys. What's more, the faculty in the university can use the infrastructure, too. As a result, the welfare of the faculty is also satisfied. Take my professor for example, thanks to him, his daughter can go inside the new library and study inside. And he is happy because he does not have to worry that his daughter may lie about hanging out all night with friends instead of studying. Therefore, it is not only a win-win, schools and students, investment but a win-win-win investment, schools, students, and faculties.

In conclusion, to be benifit of all the members in a university, I think it is more important for universities to invest in infracture and physical plant rather than to invest in keeping the faculty satisfied.