The twentieth century was great change. In your opinion, what is one change that should be remembered about the twentieth century?

Every invention every new technology are making our life easier and guaranteed. Even engineers and researchers are developing so many useful ideas everyday, you must know that almost all the fundamental principles of everything, including, living organisms, computer technologies and physics of life, were already invented in the twentieth century. For me, the most crucial invention that we must remember was the identification of DNA structure. Every invasive and non invasive disease diagnosing technology, genetically modified organisms and treatment technology development are based on the understanding the DNA structure.

DNA is a tiny molecules that is contained in every single cell of a living organisms. It defines how we look, how we talk, how we act and even what kind of disease we tend to have. Like it defines, it is stable which can be stored from ancestors to descendants. As I have written above, DNA based disease diagnosing technology is highly specific and guaranteed way to now if I am ill and how bad it is. Let`s imagine that you have a helicobacter infection. In order to take the treatment, you have to be proven by diagnosing it by giving a biological sample-biopsy, blood, saliva, gastric biopsy etc. Experts will isolate the helicobacter DNA from the sample and put it into machine which can count the number of bacterial DNA. The more DNA counted on the machine, the more you tend to ill hard.

As the number of people who live on the earth increase, the more food resourse will be required to keep them alive. Starvation is the biggest problem that 5 people die because of lack of nutrition supply. Researchers have been working really hard to investigate the technology which can make plenty of food by using limited amount of resource. As a result, they created the genetically modified plants, including corn, rise and many other plants. It gives us an opportunity to grow fast growing, non pesticides or insecticides using and resistant to environmental stress plant. For example, genetic engineers put particular DNA sequence of insect into a corn DNA sequence in order to make it resistant to insects. By modifying the DNA, we do not only save the natural resourses we save time, money and many people`s live who might have died because of starving.

There are only two main problems which the doctors are facing. First is they still could not find the way to live forever, second is they still not able to treat tumor perfectly. Even so, many researchers are still trying to figure out these problems. In order to find, they use some DNA technologies too. For instance, they put tumor inducing DNA sequence into model organisms and make them artificially ill. Moreover, they try different types of treatment chemicals to see if it works or not. Since what we know is small in contrast to what we do not know, they still could not find the answer.

In twentieth century almost all of the main principles on the earth had already investigated. As a bioengineer, I see the determination of DNA structure influenced a lot to improve the life quality of human. Highly specific diagnosing, treatment and research technology, all of them works by knowing the DNA characteristics. People have used it to make many things, they are still using it and I hope that they will keep using it to make brighter life for all the living organisms on the earth.