At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

From the dawn of time, human beings have been engaged in a great struggle to live efficiently in groups. Since social activities plays an important role in human’s life, people should take this issue seriously. While the importance of education is evident to everyone, social activities play an important role in human’s success in life as well. Different people may give manifold types of answers to the question that how much time a student should allocate to social and sport activities based upon their social, educational, and cultural backgrounds. In accordance to above-mentioned facts, regarding my personal perspective, I believe that social activities and sports are just as important as classes and libraries and should be supported equally. Among the most predominant reasons in support of this position, preservation against maladies, physical health, and learning improvement could be picked out for further discussion.

To commence with, sport and social activities bring about social and psychological heath. I remember one of my teachers while giving advice on this issue, mentioned this proverb: “All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy”. Based on the statistics of different surveys in various countries, depression is getting more common in modern societies. On account of the fact that extreme depression can result in suicide and other maladies which are not rare in contemporary society, investing more budget on social activities and sports is of crucial importance. Furthermore, Engaging in social activities bring about building a more cultured and amiable personalities in young students that makes their life more interesting. For example, I remember I worked for a company in which there was outstanding climbing programs on weekends. In addition to the joyful weekends, the atmosphere in workdays was so fresh that arduous tasks were done easily.

In addition to the reason raised above, physical health holds no less importance. Without any shadow of doubt, this is a true fact that healthy mind is in the healthy body. Without getting enough exercise, one cannot think properly and As many research studies in this issue proved, exercising a few hours in a week can reduce the chance of many severe illnesses like cancer. Therefore, supporting sport programs can be a great replacement of extremely expensive health programs.

Last but not least, with a few minutes of exercise a day, one’s ability to learn new things can improve substantially. I remember that I was reading a book in this field that described how movement of muscles helps the mind be fresh, healthy and keen to learn by producing endorphin, a hormone that makes us feel fresh. Moreover, it can build a fresh atmosphere and increase people’s productivity in every-day life.

In summary, with all this taken into account, sport and social gatherings are as important as curriculum, and should meet more support in universities. Although it may cost both money and time, as illustrated in the paragraphs above, it will pay off the investment.