When schools do not have enough funding or teachers, some people think physical education classes should be cut, while others believe that courses in art and music should be eliminated first. Which do you think is preferable, and why?

We very well know that both art and physical education are vital for student’s overall development. But, in case, if school has to cut one of the classes from physical education and art and music because of unavailability of enough funding, I would suggest cutting the art and music class. There are several reasons behind my choice.

First of all, I believe that art and music is mostly based on hobby. Not everyone will be interested in this. However, physical education classes are important for student's overall physical and mental health and every student should take it. Many students would choose video games or other indoor games to fill their play time after school hours. For an instance, I, myself, used to prefer indoor games while playing in the evening time, because of being very tired from school to do some outdoor activities. So, for students like me, it becomes essential that there is a compulsory physical education class in school.

Second, for art and music, student can take classes outside of school, based on their interest. Moreover, one can learn art and music at any time of the day. Whereas, physical activities need a lot of energy and should preferably be done during day time, the time when students will be in their school. For an example, a student after school hours will be very tired to play some rigorously demanding sport like football and will preferably skip it. So, it makes more sense to have physical education class during school hours, rather than, after.

Last but not the least, there are varieties of sports and every sport requires different kind of physical arrangement. For example, football cannot be played with cricket stumps on the ground and vice versa. Most of the outdoor sport places will not have that kind of vast area or ground, as compared to school ground, to play all kinds of sport. Hence, students might need to go to multiple places to play different games which will be a total waste of their time.

Therefore, the zest of my point is that even though both music and physical education are necessary for student’s overall development, physical education holds a higher priority with respect to scope and flexibility and it seems fairer to have physical education class over art and music class in school.