Which kind of professors will you choose when selecting the courses?

1. Some professors who are voted to be the most popular one.

2. Some professors who are rewarded of outstanding research.

Unlike the past when students were always required to learn in accordance with teachers’ guidance, nowadays people are given more chances to embed critical thinking while studying, even choose professors when being encountered with multiple selection of courses. Some prefer to the professors who are voted the most popular ones, while on the contrary, others hold the view that professors who are rewarded of outstanding research are more favorable. From my perspective, I stand on the latter, it is of greater significance to have better academic rewards than being popular among students.

To begin with, being rewarded of outstanding research indicates that the person is highly authorized in academic circle. Provided that students choose the course taught by this professor, they are more likely to have opportunities to get access to the most updated scientific achievements in the related field, which is definitely vital in the rapid-developing society. They could utilize the attainments to develop their own research in the area, which must undoubtedly contribute to their further studies and future career. For instance, my neighbor Jie, who is currently studying software engineering in college, has completed a research related to artificial intelligence, which was led by her tutor. During the time, she got a lot of practice and became more capable in dealing with real-life problems, apart from what she could learn from the class. It is inevitable that this experience would make her resume more competitive and give her better chance to enter a bigger enterprise.

Additionally, being rewarded of great research means that the professor would tend to have more funding from the university as well as organizations. The students would be beneficial for the fact that their learning environment could be improved. For example, they could use the most high-tech equipment to conduct experiment. Once the hardware and software have been enhanced, more talented students would be attracted to enter this class, which could reinforce the quality of the course. The class discussion could be more inspired and the students would be more motivated to learn. There has been a survey conducted to analyze students’ willingness of participating in different seminars and the results suggested that students took a more active part in the discussion which had a greater number of gifted group members involved.

To be honest, choosing the professors who are voted to be the most popular ones may also have some merits. Because they are favored by students, it is more likely that their class would be more interesting. However, sometimes this would mean the class efficiency may be lowered for the students may be more focused on playing. Besides, the students may pay more attention to the professor instead of the content of the class.

To conclude, choosing the professors who won the reward of research has more pros. Firstly, it may help the students gain more competency in further studies and career. Secondly, the learning environment would be better and students would have chances to meet more excellent classmates.