Which one do you think is important to long-lasting friendship?

1. Help you when you need

2. Share same interest and hobby

3. mutual trust

No one could deny the fact that a long-lasting friendship values no less than any other relationships. When it comes to a question regarding that what aspect of a friendship is the most important key to make it last permanently, individuals share different ideas. While some might consider that a help offered by friends anytime or the common interests and hobbies decide one’s friendship endurance, I, on the contrary, contend that the mutual trust is the most important part of a long-lasting friendship.

To commence with, one of the most compelling reasons in advocacy of the thesis is that an undissolving friendship is shaped by a reliance offered by the trust. When surviving in a society, people cannot avoid making some lies. However, if they had someone next to them who can face totally sincerely and purely, they can find a peaceful part of this harsh society survival by relying on these friends. Take an example of a famous musician Hachi as an instance. He had a mental illness since his early ages due to the family crisis, thus he could not trust anyone he encountered or the compliments about his music talent he received. However, he met a boy, who ultimately became his best friend, that owned a very trustworthy character. Since this boy had never told lies to him, including the judgements about Hachi’s music talent, Hachi could trust his words and started to have faith on the music career. If he did not have such a reliable existence, he could never find a feeling of relying on someone.

What is more, a trustful relationship provides people with a sense of belonging. All the people are born with the crave to belong to someone. In childhood, it is toward families, and in adulthood, it often towards to friends of lovers. Contrarily, if they feel that they were betrayed from these people, they can easily break up the relationship to find another one who they can belong to. For instance, I met three old ladies in my community who shared this friendship for more than thirty years. They all had many friends in the past, but none of them actually made them belong to these people, thus they were all feeling lonely. But, after they entered the same university and met each other, they could finally feel a sense of belonging when spending time together. They could lend money to each other, go travelling, speak out any thought that they had hidden in their mind; all the activities that is embedded with a definite trust. Since they trust each other for such long time, they still belong to this friendship.

Admittedly, trust is not the only factor that leads to a permanent friendship since helps and the time shared with a common hobby or an interest is also essential to create a stable connection with others. Nevertheless, these factors do not necessarily lead to a stable relationship; that is, too much help might make the relationship annoying and troublesome, or sometimes people cherish each other all because they appreciate and value the other’s own time doing their own hobbies. Instead, trust is not replaceable. It works on any occasions that preserves one’s friendship.

In conclusion, although it is undeniable that many factors are germane to make a friendship last forever, the definite trust plays the most important role intertwining with the creation of it.