Young people enjoy life more than older people do.Do you agree or disagree?

In my opinion, age is not a factor which can influence whether a person will be able to enjoy their life. Enjoyment is more of a cerebral process and it can be achieved by doing whatever you feel you want to do without being worried of the other things. I do not agree with the prompt that young people enjoy more than the older people for following three reasons.

First of all, young people are more stressed than the older ones with the pressure of sculpting their career and to reach financial stability. In addition to this, they also have to think about piling up savings, to support their family, paying the bills. They hardly can allot time for other activities, which they can enjoy, from their busy schedules. For example, an average person has to devote almost 8+ hours to work each day. Work eats up almost half of the time a person has when they are awake. This leads to paucity of time devoted to other activities and therefore cannot enjoy their life. On the other hand, old people are free from this daily struggle and have tons of free time to do whatever activities they want to do (if their body permits).

Another reason is that the older people, since being retired from work, have more people with whom they can engage in activities. Humans are social creatures and need an audience or a group with whom they can enjoy life. Young people are engaged in a rushed life and the lives of most of the people in the group are not in sync with each other. This makes it hard for them to remove time from their schedule to meet each other and do something together. Old people, since having a lot of free time, can do activities together with their friends and family and can have more fun in their lives.

It is true that young people have more energy and are likely to be more healthy and active than older people but they are not the essentials needed for enjoying one's life. Free time and company are important factors and old people are usually rich in those departments and are more likely to enjoy their lives.