Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole.

If the society we currently live is known by the way it is, that is just because we were influenced by our ancestors. In other words, every single thing we have access today is a result of someone’s influence from past generations. If women’s rights exist, if rulers who abuse their power are dismissed or even if education is starting to be prioritize in some countries, is because young people fought for it. And this essay will explain why I truly believe that young people can not only make important decisions, but also are our only hope of a better and equal society in the future.

First, is historically known that women’s right was always different from men’s rights. However, if women can vote and work it is just because past women were not satisfied with the reality they were forced to face, and decided to go against it, in order to conquer equal rights to their next generations. I remember when I was in college and they announced that election for the new class representative. According to the board, only men were eligible to the place. As a result, all the women decided to sign a petition and send to university’s coordinator requiring equal rights in the department. The coordinator sincerely apologized and changed the requirements, and such decision affected not only our class, but also all of our future freshmen.

Second, since the earliest times, society has to deal with governments that concentrate their power and use it in favor of minority groups, disregarding those who are most effected, the majorities. My grandmother always told me the story about the march against government’s corruption she was part of when she was young, which ended with the impeachment of Brazil’s current president. By the time, I could not imagine how young people were able to change the political situation in a whole country, however, after the new corruption’s scandals announced in Brazil, I saw myself in 2017’s march fighting against corruption. This reflects how our current attitudes are result of the past young people’s wish of change.

As last, some countries face serious issues with their educational system. In Brazil, for example, the lack of basic conditions, strikes due to the non-payment of teacher’s salary, as well as overcrowded classes turned into a reality that affects student’s and teacher’s daily life. In light of this, in 2016, students from several states from Brazil decided to occupy their schools in order to try to stop with a political measure that would affect even more the Brazilian education system. As a result, the government did not implement the measure, however, many changes must still be made in order to the Brazilian educational system be considered minimally satisfactory.

To sum up, If we are who and where we are today, it is thanks to young people’s influence, that was, is and will always be extremely important to society, because young people claim for better rights, they are innovative and, after all, they are the future.