Do you think carless society is realistic and why? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

The views of people are divided if it is possible to have a carless society. Some say that we are headed towards the direction of a society that is not dependent on cars but others do not believe on this.

For some, they perceived that a carless society is possible. They think that in the future people will transition in using other modes of transportation such as bicycles and trains. Using bicycle is not only beneficial to health but also to the environment. Bicycles do not produce toxic pollutants that can contribute to climate change. Efficient train system is also faster, cheaper and can transport more people from one place to another. The only disadvantage of bicycles and trains is that you cannot go to farther places that you want to visit. The places you can reach is dependent on the availability of the routes of the train. Clearly, this limitation prohibits the usage of bicycles and trains to be widely accepted.

On the other hand, cars are already a necessity. Mostly use cars as they feel more comfortable when they drive their own car and some use it also to earn additional income. It also less stressful and you can plan your route and decide when to leave your house without thinking that you may missed the train. Cars are also reliable than bicycle and trains as it is faster and you can use it even if the weather is not good. Some disadvantages pointed are that cars contributes to more than 20% of the recorded pollution as it uses fuels that produces pollutants and much more expensive to use.

In conclusion, I believe that a carless society is far from possible and unrealistic as we are totally dependent on the convenience it brings to us. It is much more reliable to any modes of transportation that is available now and its benefits outweighs its disadvantages.