e-books are completely taking over paper-based books. University libraries should focus on e-books only instead of paper-based books. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your opinion

In today's internet world e-books have gained more importance over paper-based books. There is a constant debate over which one has more advantages and disadvantages.

Today we are going to discuss both the pros and cons of using both e-books and paper-based books in the University libraries.

While everything around us is switching towards digital, e-books have taken over paper-based books. The University libraries should prefer to use them more,

as almost all the youngsters prefer to have a kindle or any digital e-book reader. It is easy to carry. The main advantage here is, one e-book reader can have multiple books,

compared to carrying all the printer books.E-books provide one-hand experience whereas printer books can be very heavy especially those which have thousands of pages.

E-book readers might look costly but it is a one-time investment when compared to buying or lending printed books. Highlight and bookmarking is easy in e-books compared to printed books.

E-books never go out of stock and will be always available even for a thousand students at the same time.

Even though e-books have these advantages, for some people they feel of the paper is the main factor, for avid readers holding a book in hand, the smell of a paper and flipping through

pages gives beautiful feeling which they would miss in e-books. Printed books can be shared with anyone, for example, a student who had lent a book from the library and wants to share it with one of his

friends of another university printed books make it possible whereas e-books cannot be shared and can only be used by one account, this means you cannot share the e-books without sharing your credentials,

thereby affecting one's privacy. Printed books are great when it comes to illustrations and displaying images, but e-books are not so good at these. It is also easy to skim back and forth on a printed book compared

to an e-book. One of the major advantages of a printed book is that no electrical power is required and one can carry it anywhere without worrying about charging.

In conclusion, it is not hard to see that e-books are better than paper books in many aspects. They are portable and they don’t occupy physical space.

They might cause eye strain but it can be easily prevented by using protective screens. More students can access the same e-book and there is no situation of the e-books going out of stock.