education system, is assessment through written formal examination valid ?

Examinations have remained an effective method to determine the knowledge acquired by a student. With the upsurge in modernization, there have been numerous changes in the field of education. In some countries, grades are granted on the basis of assessments submitted rather than written formal examination. In my opinion, however, taking exams in written is the superior way to evaluate the level of children. This essay will elaborate on the viewpoint and hence lead to a reasoned conclusion.

There is a myriad of the arguments in favor of my stance. The most preponderant one is that the written exams can assess knowledge of an individual thoroughly, as no external help is available there. As a result, a teacher can precisely determine the weak areas of the student. For example, an exam paper includes a set of chosen question from the syllabus that can help the tutor to know how much information a child has gained. Therefore, it is indispensable in the education system for the development of pupils.

Another key justification for upholding this notion is that Judging knowledge on the basis of assessments is not much effective because students can search for material on the internet to complete it. Not only it will affect their academic growth but also hider the learning skills. As an illustration, in countries like Australia, it was a big problem in recent years as students tend to copy their course material from Google to complete an assignment. Hence, there is a valid reason to stick to the written examination for the overall progress of students.

In view of the arguments outlined above, it can be concluded that written exams are the essential and effective method to determine the information instilled in a child