If Voting Is Compulsory In A Democratic Society, What Conclusions Can We Draw About Nature Of Democracy?

Some countries made voting compulsory and every voter must cast their vote in every election. Other countries where voting is not compulsory are also start looking to make voting mandatory for every eligible citizen. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss in detail why compulsory voting is helpful for the society.

To start with, compulsory voting is good for society development as every citizen contribute in development indirectly by choosing a right candidate. In this case citizen also take care of their country by voting in favour of a party which has a good future plans for country. Also citizen feel attachment with the nation as they know that he or she voted for betterment of the society.

In addition, this type of democracy is known as people driven democracy as people choose their leaders directly. And the government is formed with clear mandate and nobody can question that majority of citizen do not favour the government. Representatives are answerable to the voters. Some countries have law to recall a representative if he or she is not working as expected.

To conclude, I can say that every country must implement law to make voting compulsory. A democracy is not completed if every voter do not cast their vote.