As a result of advances in medical care, average life expectancy is increasing for men and women. Do you think most people will see this as a positive development? What are the disadvantages of an ageing population for individuals and society? Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

Science and technology have revolutionized the medical and health care globally. With the advancement of technology in the medical field. It is now possible for human to live longer than earlier generations. Some people see this as a positive development whereas others see this as a negative development. This essay will discuss the disadvantages it brings to the society.

People are able to live longer these days due to which the aging population of the country is increasing at a steady rate. More and more people are becoming dependent on government benefits. Thus, the government expenditure in the health care schemes has increased to support the older population whereas the income to support these schemes has not risen considerably. I have seen how countries are struggling to improve their GDP due to these challenges. The aging population presents more disadvantage than advantages to the society.

As people live longer, they are also present in workforce for a longer time. This presents a lot of challenges to the young generation in finding jobs that have recently completed their education. I have seen how youths in desperation of finding a job have resorted to criminal activities. Hence, longer life presents challenges to both developed and developing countries.

This essay discussed how older people can cause unemployment among youth and become a burden on government expenditure. In my opinion new unique solutions needs to be developed to address these problems.