Should voting be compulsory for all citizens or people should have the freedomto choose not to vote? What is your opinion?

A matter of considerable controversy at present is the issue of whether voting should be compulsory. Some proponents claim that it has a fundamentally beneficial impact as it increases the eligibility of voting systems, while others maintain that it never meets the expectations. Both sides of this contentious issue will be put under scrutiny in the essay below before a personal view is expressed.

To begin with, a variety of reasons can be put forward to elaborate why it could be immense work to force people to participate in any elections. First and foremost, compulsory registration and voting increases the legitimacy of elected representatives. Candidates winning seats in parliament really do win a majority of the people’s votes. For instance, in countries like the United States, where the turnout can be low, candidates can win with much less than a majority of the eligible vote. Therefore, the heightened benefits of compulsory voting can clearly be seen.

In contrast, critics of the primary approach point out that the extent to which it works is limited. Predominantly, compulsory voting can make a political system unresponsive. If voting were made voluntary, it would shake up the political system. Parties and candidates would have to do more to convince people of the merits of their policies in order to get voters to the polls. As an illustration, a recent prestigious study proved that correct policies can ensure a high rate of public participation in voting. Hence, it is important that people participate in voting as they wish.

To recapitulate, weighing up all the arguments against each other, there are valid and strong points from both sides of the fence. Ideally, a balance should be sought.