Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a drastic rise in the number of high schools that make unpaid community service mandatory along with academic curriculum. While most believe that this is a positive initiative that allow high school children to grow into responsible citizens, others oppose this idea. This essay will discuss both sides and provide reasons why community service is beneficial for their overall development.

To begin with, one strong argument against promoting social service programmes undertaken by school kids is that it distracts them from concentrating on academics. Since the world we live in is a competitive world, parents are of the opinion that children should devote maximum time to excel in academics. For example, most high school children attend coaching classes for several competitive examinations immediately after school. Consequently, they have little time to afford for other recreational or community programmes. Thus, most children are dissuaded from being part of such initiatives.

However, there are several arguments in favour of children taking active part in community service. This allows children to develop a broader perspective in life and a sense of giving back to society. Cleaning of the streets, for instance, ensure that they develop an attitude where they avoid throwing garbage on streets. Another advantage is that it provides them with an opportunity to interact with like minded children and external people as part of this programme. In addition, it helps them in developing their social and interpersonal skills.

To conclude, despite some disadvantages, community service rendered by high school children help them develop into responsible and mature individuals. In my opinion, such programmes are beneficial for children as it greatly enhances their social outlook and perspective.