Some people prefer to listen to music while studying, as music has a calming effect on the mind. Others prefer a pin drop silence in order to concentrate on the content they are studying and have an undivided attention while they do so.Which option works

It has become a trend for some people to listen to music as they study, because they believe this activity calms the mind, which would in turn help the brain grasp more information. Other people, on the contrary, believe it is much better to study in a completely quiet environment, since they opine that music only distracts the mind from the information they are trying to absorb. I am convinced that the latter option is more suitable in regard to obtaining successful results.

Some years ago, it became trendy amongst certain type of psychologists to say that listening to classical music – such as that of Mozart – enhanced a person’s studying skills. I think one of the reasons for this opinion is that some people think that listening to music doesn’t require any special attention. However, there are cases in which people say that regardless of the music they listen to, if they do so as they study, they are unable to grasp the same amount of information as when they study in a completely quiet surrounding. In my opinion, this happens because listening to music and reading are two very different activities that the brain must focus on independently, in order to carry them out correctly.

If a person really likes listening to music, for example, but also really enjoys paying special attention to what they read, then, that person’s mind will be constantly shifting its focus from one thing to the other if trying to do both things at the same time, and, thus, will not be able to carry out any of the two activities successfully.

To sum up, I believe both activities should be carried out separately, in a silent environment – avoiding other noises, in the case of music - if they are to be taken seriously.