Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes is one of the most widely used drugs in the world. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long-term health costs are high- for the smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.Do Governments have a legitimate role to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their own decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to an individual?”

Tobacco in form of cigarettes is the most popular drug used in the worldwide and over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long-term health costs are high for smokers and community also bear the consequences. Some people believes that governments should have to legislate to protect citizens from the harmful effects while others argue that it’s individual decision to quit smoking and have healthy life. I am inclined to believe that both government and individual must come together and protect them. This essay will discuss both side points.

Firstly, Government runs various campaigns and programs to educate and spread the awareness of ill-effect of long term drug usage but results are not very impressive. Smoking is not only affecting to smokers but also causes issue to non-smokers which are in same vicinity and remain closely which also made them “passive” smokers. To save them, Government should levy high taxation on tobacco products, advertisements should be prohibited in movie theatre during movie. Government must be stringent towards the smoking. For example, In India, smoking is banned in public places but due to lack of toughness towards law people don’t follow the rule and has no fear.

Secondly, Individuals should be knowing the consequence of long term smoking as it’s root of many heart disease and lung problem, where parents and school authorities need to be more vigilant to children as teenagers start smoking to be “cool” in friend circle. For instance: school should ask children to prepare case study of ill-effect of smoking from real data, surveyed and findings by scientists to educate themselves.

In conclusion, the forgoing discussion propounds that to protect the youth from ill-effect of long term smoking, government and individual must work together to protect individual and increase productivity.