what was the most important invention of the last 100 years?

In the last hundred years, the most important invention in our planet was the Internet. It is a prominent technological development that has enabled modern humans to communicate, share information and remain connected at real-time while living in geographically distant places. This essay will discuss the reasons why the Internet is undoubtedly the most important invention of this century.

To begin with, it has positively affected the way humans interact and disseminate information on a global scale. Firstly, humans can communicate with each other at real-time using mobile devices that make use of the Internet for running application software. Consequently, several social media apps have allowed people to interact with friends, family and relatives spread across the globe. Facebook, Skype, Google Duo are some of the most common examples of applications that extensively use the Internet. In addition, it has enabled people to get updated on the latest events or news from all corners of the world at the convenience of their homes.

Another important contribution of the Internet is how it has drastically changed the way technology and businesses operate today. Internet-enabled connected devices have empowered humans to shop for grocery items, medicines, household services and even finding partners online. It has enabled several businesses and startups to utilise technology advancement to make the life of humans easier while establishing business models that generate enormous revenues. Moreover, it has provided new employment opportunities to millions of engineers worldwide and contributes a major chunk of a country’s gross domestic product(GDP).

To conclude, the Internet has played a cardinal part in improving connectivity between people irrespective of the distances and allowed for a technology-driven lifestyle. In my opinion, it has formed the backbone of humanity’s current technology prowess.