Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is true that prisons as a means of punishment are not effective, while a high percentage of inmates re-offend at least once when they are released back. Some effective measure should be taken to solve the problem. This easy will look at the causes of the problem and propose viable solutions.

One of the main causes of the problem is that the prison system can make the situation worse. Convicts committing non-violent crime usually being kept in the same cell as murderers, sex-offenders and rapists, which is a serious waste of taxpayers' money. Furthermore, petty criminals may even learn how to commit more severe crime when they rubbing shoulder with murderers. Dealing with this issue involves focusing on rehabilitation rather than punishment. This could be seen as an opportunity for prisoners to study, while they are doing time. As a result, a majority of them never re-offend when they are released.

Another problem is that it is difficult for inmates who convicted a crime to find a job due to their criminal record. Thereby, the only way to earn money is to turn to crime. The way forward could be to provide vocational courses so that they can learn practical skills such as car maintenance and computer programming. As a result, they can be hired for a position which requires these skills and they are unlikely to come back to jail.

To sum up, it is true that re-offenders are an increasingly worrying issue, affecting both society and individuals because of reasons such as prisons' regulation and finding proper job for offenders. As I see it, government and socialist have a crucial role to play in order to deal with the problem. Action must be taken into consideration, otherwise our society will face serious crime-related problem in the future.