People in major cities suffer from high levels of air pollution that causes health problems for many. Explain possible reasons for this problem and suggest some solutions.

In nowadays, in metropolitan cities, most residents are affected more and more by air pollution, which causes them a series of health diseases. Although there are lots of contributing factors to this phenom, emissions released by cars is the main one as it will be explained below.

In most capital cities the center of the city is the most densely populated region due to the fact most public agencies, markets and monuments are typically located there. Therefore, most people choose to take their car, in order to reach the center of the city. This behavior, however, tends to increase the amounts of toxic fumes emitted on air, since cars are known for producing CO2 and other harmful particles that are responsible for asthma and even lung cancer.

The best course of action in terms of mitigating the above-mentioned problem suggests decreasing cars’ usage. This could be accomplished with two ways. First of all, local citizens and tourists should be encouraged to use public means of transportation, such as metro or bus vehicles, more and more. Secondly, the Ministry of Finance should levy a tariff with respect to ownership of cars. The imposition of extra taxes associated with cars would give lots of people an additional reason to stop using their cars and to take public transport. Recent surveys suggest that 60% of people living in the center of Athens have recently stopped using their cars due to the respective extra charges introduced by the local government.

In conclusion, the main reason responsible for air pollution is the extensive usage of cars in the center of cities. This could be avoided by encouraging citizens to take public transport and by imposing extra taxes pertaining to cars’ ownership.