Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

Nowadays, it is a heatedly debated topic in any society whether government should invest in improving the public transportation or the highways. People greatly differ in their attitudes towards this point. Some people hold the opinion that there are more benefits in developing the highways, while others have the negative attitude. In my personal opinion, it is more advisable to spend money on public transportation. My arguments for this point are listed as follows.

First of all, developing the public transportation reduces the heavy traffic in city. These days, in most of the cities especially capital cities, people such as students and clerks complain that traffic jams wastes their time. Most of them are full of stress when they arrive late to their offices. If the number of buses and trains increases, citizens are encouraged to use them rather than their private cars. This certainly leads to less traffic.

Second reason is that improvement of public transportation has a positive effect on the air and noise pollution. These days, many old people suffer from noise caused by cars. In addition, new researches show that cars spread different kinds of air pollutant such as carbon dioxide which make a large variety of diseases like skin cancer and heart disease. If government provides convenient buses and trains, people prefer to leave their cars at home or even sell them and use public transportation. Assume a bus can transfer 50 persons. If 50 citizens decide to use bus instead of their private cars, we can see a dramatic decrease in noise and air pollution.

To sum up, developing the public transportation, such as bus and trains, may solve two important problems of society: air and noise pollution and traffic congestion. Taking into account of these advantages, we may reasonably reach the conclusion that investing in improvement of public transportation is more necessary than developing the highways.