168

The following is a letter that recently appeared in the Oak City Gazette , a local newspaper.

"The primary function of the Committee for a Better Oak City is to advise the city government on how to make the best use of the city's limited budget. However, at some of our recent meetings we failed to make important decisions because of the foolish objections raised by committee members who are not even residents of Oak City. People who work in Oak City but who live elsewhere cannot fully understand the business and politics of the city. After all, only Oak City residents pay city taxes, and therefore only residents understand how that money could best be used to improve the city. We recommend, then, that the Committee for a Better Oak City vote to restrict its membership to city residents only. We predict that, without the interference of non-residents, the committee will be able to make Oak City a better place in which to live and work."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the letter recommends that Oak City needs to limit its citizenship only to the residents who both work and live within the boundary of the city. He believes that this will help to make the city a better place for the residents because its budget might be spent only for the residents without interference of the outsiders. This might sound plausible at first, but the invalidity of the answers to the question leads me to doubt its validity.

First, the author asserts that the primary function of the Committee for a Better Oak City is to give advice to the government to make better decision on budget spending for the residents of the city. This process is, however, hindered by some of the committee members who are not the residents of the city. The author implies that some of the committee members should be ferreted out of the society, and this will preclude the possibility that they might hinder the decision-making procedure of budget spending because they are not living in the city. Granted, however the validity of the advice of the Committee should be evaluated first before it segregates the opponents. The advice might be only beneficial for some of the residents not all. For example, it might have to do with constructing a new sports center close to a certain part of the city with the government’s money. This advice cannot be helpful for all the citizens of the area.

Next, the author recommends that the citizenship should be limited only to those who are both living and working in the city because those living outside the city boundary cannot completely understand the business and politics there. Here, the author needs to answer the definition of the boundary of the city. Is that the territorial boundary of the city area? If so, how could the city draw a clear line of the physical boundary. Or, does that mean the symbolical meaning of the area? How about the company which is located outside of the city’s material boundary, but with a number of the workers who are both living in the city and paying for city’s tax. Does the company belong to the city or not? Moreover, the author needs to answer whether the people who are not living in the city cannot fully understand the situation there. The possibility that there might be those who works for the city, even if they are not living there such as government officials who are working there and living outside or the workers who have the job there and commute from outside every day. These people might better understand the meticulous system, how the government and industry of the city operate than the residents who are just leaving the city’s territorial boundary.

Lastly, the author needs to answer the question whether only the residents understand how the money of the city government should be spent to improve the city because they are the only the tax payers. As aforementioned, there might exist other contributors in the city who are financially supporting as well as relying on the city’s industry. They should be regarded as another tax payer through indirect way. Thus, those contributors are also eligible for getting citizenship of the city. Moreover, even the taxpayers who directly perform their duty might not fully understand how the money is spent or do not care about it that much even if the government’s decision directly affect their lives. This misunderstanding poses the danger of affecting the government to make the wrong decision. Therefore, the broader and various perspectives of the outsiders who contribute the well fare of the city is imperatively needed.

In brief, the author answers the question whether the city should limit its citizenship is not sufficient on many grounds. He has to strengthen his recommendation with more concrete justifications.