32. The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter th

As cited by the author,last year the percentage of on-the-job accidents had increased by 30 percent in Quiot Manufacturing and he/she also suggests that to decrease the percentage of accidents they must follow the work policy of Panoply Industries by shortening of work hours.At first this seems reasonable to believe but if we think more deeply there are a lot of flaws in authors research as well as in claims.

Firstly,only percentage of increasing job accidents of Quiot Manufacturing is taken into consideration by the author but the number of mishaps may have been lesser as compared to the Panoply Industries.Also experts advises are only mentioned by the author but he/she hasn't mentioned about workers advise and experts saying is also true about fatigue due to longer shifts but the reason behind such increase in mishaps may be due to lack of management of tools like old aged machines,no inspection in working areas etc.

Secondly,author claims that in order to increase productivity working shifts must be decreased as in Panoply Industries but this is not enough to readily achieve certain goals as of others.The management must be firm and dedicated as well as objective oriented.Workers must be taken good care of like life insurance and payments must be increased as according to their ability and working tenure.Furthermore working environment must be good and machines must be of producing expected outcome.

Although author makes some premises and assumptions in the argument but it is not enough to be logically right so,author needs to do further researches in order to fix the flaws and make his or her argument more pertinent.