[72] The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the arguer concludes that the best way of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all their pest control services. To support the conclusion, the arguer points out that their warehouse in Wintervale, served by Buzzoff, only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage, which is less than the warehouse in Palm City, served by Fly-Away. However, this argument suffers from several critical fallacies.

The author claims that $20,000 worth of food stored in Palm City had been destroyed by pest damage, which is higher than $10,000. It seems reasonable to choose Buzzoff in the future, after all, the food served by them lost less money. However, more evidences are required to support the statement. One factor the passage left out is the food stored in two warehouse might be different, resulting in distinct risk of being destroyed by pest damage. For instance, fruit is significantly more likely to attract pest comparing to grains. It is essential to know the cargo stored in the two warehouses in order to evaluate the situation better, then coming up with a better solution.

Furthermore, even though the food stored in two warehouses are the same, another factor we still need to consider is the location of two warehouses. For example, if one is in the forest, where exists more bugs. It is more likely to encounter pest damage comparing to another warehouse located in a cooler area, where bugs are fewer. In other words, unless the author can provide more detail about the location of two warehouses, we cannot make a quick conclusion to return back to Buzzoff.

Next, the author only mentioned that real amount of the worth damaged by the pest. A number of the percentage of the worth of food damaged to the total food stored is required. Because the food stored in Palm city could be much more than the food stored in Wintervale, $20,000 is just a small percent of total food. Then it is not appropriate to consider Buzzoff Company is worse than Fly-Away Company. Therefore, a further investigation of the total food stored in the warehouses is required to realize the percentage of the worth of food damaged by the pest damage.

In the end, according to the previous statement, more evidence is required before the Vice President makes a more comprehensive decision.