According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic en

In preceding argument, the author avers that using an honor code to reduce the cheating percentage between Groveton College students was a great method, while the argument seems to be quite plausible at first glance, a closer scrutiny sheds light on a plethora of questions yet to be answered which could dampen the valuation of the prediction made above.

To begin with, we do not know how the report was carried out and wether the result was reliable or the sample was representative of large scope. Even there is a concrete or positive corrolation between the honor code and mitigation the cheating between students, this does not necessarily indicate the causal relationship betwwn the two events. because there are a lot of conditions can be jointly determined by myriad of facors, including students academic level because for example, the first year students are follow all the rules and regulations, and the students major has a direct connection with complexity of the exams that might increase the students urge to cheat for instance the medical major exams are not like engineering exames , or maybe because the students have to inform the teacher if they notice some one cheating that made a psychological effect on them. So, in order to figure out the true cause of this system, a thorough investigation considering the leverage of all possible contributes is expected.

Last but not least, the author implies, about another second survey without mentions any details that reflect the results. hence, the two previous studies per se are not reliable at all, then the extrapolation made based on that would not be valid in the first place. And without valid data, generalization the results on other colleges and universities will not be useful.

In conclusion, depends on the author evidences and studies, the argument does not substantiate the author/'s standpoint in the slightest way, and fails to make a convincing case.