According to a recent report,cheating among college and university students is on rise . however Groveton college has successfully reduced cheating by adopting an honor code , which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and

In the preceding argument, the author recommends that all colleges and universities to adopt the so called honor code system from Groveton college to deal with the issue of increasing cheating. The argument may sound tenable at face. However, upon careful scrutiny, the arguer commits a fallacy of oversimplification and the argument is full of premises.

First and foremost, the author claims that the honor code is beneficial compared to common system, for in the honor code system, students are supposed to report cheating behavior of other students to the teachers, so not teachers are supervising the students. The argument is based on a gratuitous assumption that all students are totally honest and report each cheating case they find to the teachers, which is, of course, unwarranted. It's more likely that some students who always cheat during exams are doing this together and they are hiding the truth for each other, so the teacher never know they are cheating. Thus, it is vividly clear that whether the honor code works as intended requires deeper investigation.

Furthermore, building upon the statistics that reported number of cheating cases was 21 and 14 during the first year the honor code was adopted and five years later, respectively, which is much lower than average number of 30 before the system was used, the author assert the honor code successfully decreases cheating among students. The data conspicuously lack promise. We don't know for sure if the lower number of cheating cases indeed results from less cheating or it is simply because many students are not reporting it. If the lack of monitor from faculties actually gives some students more chance of cheating without being found is doubtful.

Last but not least, citing the evidence that a recent survey shows most Groveton students believe they are much less likely to cheat with honor code, the author contends all universities should have the same system in place. Nevertheless, in absense of specific information about the survey, it's impossible for us to evaluate the argument. There's no information about who participated in the survey. A question might arise here is that a majority of students included in the survey are excellent students with great academic records that wouldn't cheat even without honor code. Obviously, a more thorough and long-term survey with all students from Groveton college included is needed.

To sum up, the conclusion reached in the argument lacks credibility as the evidence cited in the analysis does not lend strong support to what the arguer claims. Unless other possibilities mentioned above have been considered and ruled out, the conclusion that honor code effectively decreases cheating and recommendation that all colleges and universities should adopt the same system is unconvincing.