Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at

The author makes a conclusion that the reason of deer populations decline is the limit ability to across the frozen sea for following their migration patterns. In order to vindicate the assumption, the author cites a study concerning local hunters reports that the deer populations are declining. However, the author should consider some other paticular evidences before making the assumptions.

Firstly, in the argument, the author mentions a survey which investigated local hunters. However, the author don't consider two possible question: the representativeness of these local hunters and the validity of their testimony. It is possible that the sample size of the survey is not enough for author to make the assumption. Also, the local hunters reports may not be very justifiable. Perhaps the local hunters are not good at hunting and finding Arctic deers. Therefore, these Arctic hunter whereabouts is belied to them, which lead to local hunters misreprensented reports. Or the local hunters would not like to candid in the real distribution of the Arctic Deer in order to avoid other hunters come to their terrioty and catch their Arctic Deer. If the author could provide more particular evidences, the author's assumption would be more tenable.

Secondly, based on the current fact that global warming trends have cuased sea ice to melt, the author assumes the this is the reason of the decline of the deer population. It is may true, in some cases, that the global warming is a popular topic in analyzing a specific phenomena. The author, however, may overlooked that the degree of influences regarding global warming. Maybe the influence of the global warming in arctic region is not considerable. Hence, the ice melting, caused by global warming, would be not very serious. What's more, although global warming may a important reason for the sea ice decling, it is possible that sea ice in north area is still intact, which would also warrant the Arctic deers' migration and living. Without eliminating the possiblities that may weaken the assumption, the author assumption would be tenuous.

On the ground of local hunter survey and a global warming trends, the author makes a conclusion that it is the deprivation of frozen sea that cause the deer population decrease. Nevertheless, the author may not consider some other reason which would also cause that consequence. Could the sea ice be a only reason of the deer population decline? Maybe not. Perhaps the overhunting or the prevailing disease would also the possible reason of that decline. Even the natural selection could also be regarded as a main reason of that decline. If the author could consider more specific evidences to evaluate the argument, his or her assumptions would more convincing.

All in all, although the author's assumption might be true in some cases, some specific evidences should be released in order to bolster the argument. In the case, the author argument would be more substantiated.