Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The advertising director, in his memo, made a specious argument regarding the budget allocation with many assumptions that are not bolstered by actual facts and figures. In order to say that the argument he made is justified much of background information is needed to be overviewed first.

The first question that rises from this memo is regarding the reviews. Firstly, the positive reviews are only about a certain genre of movies. These positive feedback don't represent the overall reviews by of all the movies. Secondly, there's no mention about the percent increase of positive reviews. A point to be noted is that with decreased viewers than before, an increase in positive reviews can't determine whether overall more people like the new content or not. So instead of percentages, numbers would help the director to see the actual scenario regarding the people's response to their content.

There is no mention about the nature of the reviews and how they were collected. Often, the reviews are taken after the screening of the movie when audiences leave the hall. Not always the audience feels comfortable to directly say they didn't like the movie. So, such reviews without any critical analysis don't represent the real outputs. The survey type of review with flawed and biased questions like "do you like this movie more than our previous movies" can't be trusted. Online reviews can't be trusted either as those can be fake and put by the production team to attract more people. So before considering the reviews to be original, the director must do further investigation to collect more information about the reviews.

Then comes the question regarding the reason of the decrease in viewers. There can be many reason of such decrease. Only one of those reason is not up to the mark contents. The environment of the theater plays an important role as movie is a form of entertainment. So if the environment of the place is not cozy enough, allocating a large portion in marketing won't help attract the viewers. The timing of the movies that are screened also plays a vital role. So without knowing whether the movies produced by this company are being screened in good theaters at a convenient time, it's hard to say only promoting movies would be sufficient to increase its audiences.

Reaching the audience is an essential strategy to promote any upcoming movie. The director, however must look for the answers of the above mentioned questions to determine whether their movies suffer from only low advertising, or there are other contributing factors. Only then the budget should be allocated to ameliorate the conditions.