In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the the argument placed there was an attempt done by the Prunty County last year by lowering the speed limit to improve the highway safety. But instead the number of accidents have not decresed. Thus argument suggest that Prunty County must opt the ideas of Butler County which has reported fewer accidents. But this argument is not cogent, it fails to specify the evidences which will bolster its acceptance.

Firstly, Butler County improvement project was undertaken five years ago which shows the fewer accidents today. This is totally wrong comparison. How can one compare the success with that of others which started five years earlier? We need the improvement in the highway safety so we need to focus on the ideas and projects which are been started in this year. The conditions of the roads were different earlier and also the number of vehicals running on the road were less as compared to todays luxurious lifestyle of people.

The second flaut is that according to the Butler County if we increase the lane width this will cut down the trees in the way of the road. Thus this is the bad idea as it will lead ignorance of environment and will thereby contribute to pollution.

Thirdly, I would like to draw attention to the fact that there is no evidence in the terms of statistics. This states that the argument fails to gain the enough acceptance.

How can the improvement in the visibility at the dangerous intersections would help in improvement in the safety? If one tries to improve the safety the also the drivers can speed up and can commit accident. The reports presents that there was not decrease in the number of accidents while the adopted the method of limiting the speed to 45 miles per hour. This also means there was not increase in the accidents. Thus there could be possibility that project lead to succcess in the coming years. In a sum, it concludes that argument is failed to gain.