In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patro

In preceeding argument, the author asserts that Prunty County should take the same measures as Butler County to lower the rate of traffic accidents, citing a failure in lower speed limit and the success of controlling accidents in Butler County. At first glance, the recommendation may sound logical and plausible; however, a closer scrutiny reveals that the author\'s claimations are not supported by the evidence proffered above.

To begin with, additional information need to be attained in answering whether lowering speed limit could diminish the number of accidents or not. For instance, it is possible that the fact that many drivers are exceeding the speed limit may lead to the high accident rate. Therefore, it might be advisable for the authority of Prunty County to compare the number of accidents between drivers exceeding the speed limit and those not. Alternatively, Prunty County could impose harsher punishment for malfeasanse, and then calculate the accident rate.

In addition, even if a lower speed limit could not reduce the number of accidents, this does not necessarily mean that Prunty County should follow exactly what Butler County had done. The rate of traffic accidents is affected by multifarious factors, speed of driving being only one of them, and concrete evidence need to be shown that in what areas Prunty County is outperformed by Butler County. Arguably, if roads in Prunty County are already wider than those in Butler County and are in better condition as well, it would be useless to improve the roads. Therefore, the policy to lower accident rate should be aimed at solving the most urgent problems of at Prunty County.

Last not least, we still need to know if the dwindled number of accidents in Butler County are truly the result of the improvement on roads. In the argument, the author does not effectivelly rule out other possibilities that could be attributed the lower number of accidents at Butler County in the five years, during which accidents decreased by one fourth. It might be the fewer number of cars on the roads in Butler County that lowered the number of accidents, for instance. To do so, a thorough investigation and analysis need to be carried out before making any conclusion.

In sum, while it may be true that Prunty County ought to solve the problem of high number of accidents, but professing the failure of a lower speed limit and the copy of seemingly successful policies taken by Butler County makes exact evidence wanting. Otherwise, the valuation of the statment by the author are definitely to be undermined.