TPO-30 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours. Use spec

There have always been heated discussions on how long people should work to be most satisfied. Some might contend that it is better to work only three days a week for long hours because people can have more time to relax and they do not need to work. However, I would like to say that working for five days per week with shorter hours are more enjoyable in terms of stress, pressure and the quality of work.

First and foremost, it is undeniable that nowadays many work can be quite laborious both inside and outside office. Though working for longs hours and fewer days seems to give people more time to get away from work, it actually put people under much stress and pressure, so their health can be undermined in the long run. For instance, many works today are accomplished on computers, and sitting in front of the desk and staring at the screen can have adverse effect on people's eye-sight and cause severe discomfort in back, which can be a problem years later. Drivers, as another example, are not expected to work continuously for long hours, in order to prevent them from fatigue and distraction.

Secondly, working for too long may make people get bored in what they are doing, which in turn affect the quality of their work. Typically, in jobs that require precision and concentration, like accountants or doctors, workers must pay full attention to their work, which can be exhausting. Thus, it is not uncommon for people in these fields to get bored and tired after a day's work. And if they work for even longer hours a day, the quality of their work will definitely drop, causing damages to employees' benefits. Thus, working three days a week for long hours is also detrimental to employees.

Admittedly, it is justifiable for some who argues that working for longer hours and fewer days a week can give people more freedom, and they can have better relaxation and be more prepared for a new week. Nonetheless, I still affirm that even like this, the total hour of work weekly does not change, so people are simply sacrificing their nights in exchange for two more days in "weekend". But in this way they lose the time to enjoy the evenings with their families. In fact, they may not have the time to have a good dinner with their family members.

Due to aforementioned ground, I firmly believe that people should not work for long hours and only three days a week, and stress, pressure and lower quality of work are two prime reasons.