"In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patr

The author is mainly concerned with speed limit and accidents occurring on highways. He assumed that speed limit is a primary reason for the occurrence of accidents. The assumption proved wrong and further he is also assuming that road surface and other factors are causing them. There can be many factors which cause accidents and those are not stated here.

Lowering a speed limit could cause to decrease accidents. As stated in the passage that many drivers exceed the speed limit, Prunty country should have strict laws regarding speed limits. That will decrease the number of losses. Lane width might be the reason for accidents. That should be reviewed and corrected to lower accident rate. Further, we should assume that bad quality of highway roads are the reason. It depends on how accidents are occurring. Is it a bad quality roads only or irresponsible driving? Another point stated in the passage is genuine to consider that visibility should be increased. That will cause to decrease the number of accidents occurring at night.

In the last sentence, it is stated that major Butler country has regular speed limit though it had reported 25% fewer accidents than 5 years before. The author is comparing one country with one year report and another with 5 years difference. So, It is irrelevant to compare both. Further, the reason for lowering rate of accidents is not mentioned. In sum, they should consider other aspects based on reports of accidents and should apply accident prevention strategies according to that report only.