The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.

The argument made in the newspaper editorial was that the efforts should be taken to return the illegal immigrants back to their respective countries. The opponents have come to the conclusion based upon the threats posed by illegal immigrants without proper evidence. However, before this recommendations can be efficiently evaluated following questions needs to be answered.

Firstly, The author states that autonomy of any country is based upon the strength of its borders but it is not true for every country since the strength of every country varies and depends on myriad of factors. For example, the strength of asian countries depends on amount of import and export, military power, economy and democracy. The above example pleads to fall author's assumption into question. Without substantial evidence and supporting view points one cannot conclude the autonomy of country based upon strength of its borders. Hence, autonomy is a dubious word to define since many factors play a vital role in determining it.

Additionally, the author prompts that national identity and economy is endangered which might be true up to a limit but the scope is too narrow and limited. People in european countries can travel in Europe without a difficult immigrant check that makes author's assertion that national identity is endangered specious. European countries face dearth in population so if the illegal immigrants work in that country will bolster the country's production as well as economy since country will need more people to work for them. Hence, the author's statement seems to be unjustified and one-sided.

Secondly, if efforts made to return the immigrants back might be very tedious and time consuming. Also, lots of economy and planning needs to be done to send them back. Since, the above view points hold a considerable weight and if the conclusion of the argument is weakened if the above scenario occur.

To recapitulate, the above arguments are flawed and based on unwarranted assumptions. It needs more evidence to support the author's viewpoint. However, if the author is able to answer the above mentioned questions then it is viable to send back illegal immigrants to their respective countries else the argument does not hold water and might have major consequences faced later.