On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the

The author argues that limiting the mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents, depending on a neighbor Island results when the council enforced similar limits on moped rentals. While reducing moped rental might reduce the annual accidents in the island, the author's argument is rife with holes and assumptions.

First, the writer implies that the increase of the population in summer promote moped's accidents rate, but there is no clear evidence to support this assumption. Furthermore, he stated that the population increases to 100,000 without stating the rate of increase or the number of the population before summer. Thus, many questions should be asked to verify the relation between the population increase and the number of accidents. Such as, what is the population increase rate? , what is the number of the mopeds' accidents during summer? and is there a correlation between the rate of accidents in summer and the population increase rate?

The writer suggests that limiting the number of mopeds' rental to 25 instead of 50 will consequently decrease the annual accidents to 50% is not valid. If we assume that limiting the rental will check 50 percent of the accidents in summer, will this reduce annual accidents rate into 50%? how about the rest of the year?. Moreover, the author does not effectively show the connection of the moped rental and the accidents, many residents may own mopeds since the author stated it is a popular form of transportation on the island.

Also, the writer built his argument on other island's approach of similar of enforcing the same limits on moped's rental without giving any points of comparison between the two islands to strengthen his argument. For example, the author would indicate that the two islands have close population numbers, which increase at almost the same rates during summer due to terrorists.

In conclusion, while it might be true that limiting the mopeds' rental in summer would dramatically reduce the accidents rate in the island, the town council of Balmer Island would benefit from implementing more investigation on the causes of the accidents to enforce more effective laws.