The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

The greatness of the nation is a wide phenomenon which can not be evaluated by one aspect of the nation. While the statement argues that surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people, I believe that there are many indicators should be considered in evaluating the nation greatness.

Undoubtfully, the nation cannot be great if it cannot provide standard quality of life for the people. The quality of life includes many aspects of life; health, infrastructure, economic and social equity, education, security and much more. On the other hand, the flourish of the science and art are a fruit of the welfare of the people, which will provoke the achievements of the rulers, artists, and scientists. While there are many outstanding individuals who made significant contributions in many fields came from nations lacking any basic living standards, whom their achievements were a result of their personal devotion and hard work, the welfare of the people bolster the creativity and novelty of rulers, artists, and scientists.Their achievements would further not just the cause of advancement in their society, but also profoundly affect the well-being of the human species as a whole. For example, the flourish of art and science in Europe, during Renaissance, came as a result of the improvement of the quality of life for the poor in both the cities and rural areas, and the emerg of the middle class.

Most importantly, the greatness of a nation should be judged by the contributions which it has made to the world and the humanity. And by the achievement and the ideas which benefited the mankind. For instance, the US has made so many contributions to the world, and it plays a vital role in the advancement of the science, technology, and economy, also, actively fighting against the terrorism around the world.

Also, the moral and ethical aspects are essential for a nation greatness. A nation cannot be confirmed great while its moral and ethical values are doubted. As Mahatma Gandhi stated, ''The greatness of nation should be judged by its treatment of animals". Gandhi statement reflects the importance of how a nation treats the weakest members, animal rights is an emerging issue which questions our humanity, but human rights are more critical as an indication of the nation moral development.

As a conclusion, people welfare could be an indication of the greatness of a nation, as well as, the contribution of the rulers, artists, and scientists in the development of humankind, without ignoring the rule of moral and ethical values.