The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the healthiest citizens regularly eat.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it might be true that Forsythe's residents have healthier lifestyle compared to ten years ago; however, the author's argument does not make a cogent sense. It is easy to understand sale increase of kiran food products and sale decrease of sulia food products; but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions therefor, not strong enough to prove healthier lifestyle of citizens of Forsythe.

The author mentions that Forsythe's citizens' responses to a recent survey has indicated that they follow government nutritional recommendation more closely. However, the author does not provide any information about the survey questions. For example, residents might have responded to survey questions just by yes and no answers or by short answers which can make a different perspective. On the other hand, there is possibility that residents who answered those questions did not have enough knowledge about nutritional recommendations. Furthermore, there is no explanations about government nutritional recommendation. Moreover, there is no guarantee if citizens who answered the survey questions were honest or no. To strengthen his/her argument, the author needs investigation about survey details, recommendation information, and citizens' honestly.

Additionally, the author indicates that people bought food products containing kiran four times more; however, the author does not mention about total number of buyers and total number of citizens that is important to know. If the total population of Forsythe's residents has increased four times, the ratio of population to buyers is one. As a result, there is no increase in saling food products that contain kiran. Moreover, the author mentions that kiran reduces cholesterol, but there is no data provided about that scientific study.

The author implies that sulia food products that only few healthy residents usually eat has reduced sales, but the author does not bring any statistic evidence to prove it. The author needs to indicate how much of sulia sales had decreased and the reason for it.

The author's assumptions is persuasive when he or she gathers information about the survey questions, citizens’ knowledge, and statistic information about sale products. After answering these questions, the author can make such a conclusion.